Our Wedding During COVID (10/10/20)

I cannot believe it’s been over 2 months since my dream wedding so I thought it was about time I shared it on my blog! Mamdouh and I, tied the knot on 10 October 2020 in the beautiful Seychelles, surrounded by our close family. It really was the perfect day and I am still in shock at how we managed to pull it off, all during a global pandemic!

The Location

We decided to marry in the Seychelles as it was the easiest place in terms of the legalities. It is also a stunning island and a friend recommended a wedding company that she used. We decided to book our wedding with Marco Pross (Wed-in-Seychelles) and it was the best decision we ever made. The company provides wedding packages and everything from the flowers to the photographer is organised so you do not have to go through the stress of booking that all yourself separately.

The Seychelles has been welcoming tourists since August, but only from specific destinations. The Seychelles Department of Health has a list which is updated regularly which you can find on their website. The flight from Dubai is just under 4 hours and of course, we flew Emirates. We met our families in Dubai airport and then all took the same flight over to Mahe, Seychelles.

The Dress

We were getting picked up by the wedding company at 12:30, so instead of taking our time and getting ready all morning, we somehow lost track of time and ended up having a mad panic around 11am to get ready! My sister (with absolutely no hair styling practice) did a wonderful job of my hair, I did my makeup, and my mum helped me put my dress on. Amongst all the stress and chaos of us getting ready in one small room, we managed it and everything turned out perfect!!

My beautiful dress was Justin Alexander and I got it from Lucy Hart Bridal in Leighton Buzzard, England.

The Ceremony

Our marriage took place on Baie Lazare beach which is in the south west of the island and is a picturesque, quiet stretch of beach. The ceremony started at 2:30pm and was conducted by a local registrar. We had a 4-poster pavilion and 7 chairs laid out for our guests.

The Decor

We decided to keep the colour theme neutral with mostly white flowers for the decorations. We added a small pop of colour in my bouquet and on the cake with some light pink flowers. The wedding company did a fantastic job of the display and decorations. It was completely faultless and really made the day special.

After the ceremony we were given non-alcoholic champagne (our choice as we do not drink) and we then cut the cake. The cake was a beautifully decorated 2-tier cake which we were also able to take home with us. We had a 1 hour photography session on the beach with a professional photographer who took the most incredible photos of Mamdouh and I, plus our family (we have hundreds of photos but I want to keep most of them private!).

The Wedding Breakfast

After the photography session, we played music on the beach and danced which was the best part of the whole day! We had so much fun, and it was nice to let our hair down and enjoy the moment! We then drove to a restaurant called Del Place where we had a table booked for lunch. I reserved one long table and I had organised to have the table decorated by a company called “Milestone Events & Decor” and the owner did such a wonderful job.

After our meal, we had more cake and watched the beautiful sunset from the restaurant which was open-air on the seafront. We had the loveliest day! We arrived back at our villa around 9pm and all jumped straight in the swimming pool as it was a boiling hot day and we couldn’t wait to cool off! It was the perfect ending to such a perfect day.

I know 2020 has been a tough year for everyone, but I am so grateful we got to have our wedding, surrounded by family. I feel extremely lucky to have got my dream wedding, it was the best day ever.

Thank you for reading.

10 thoughts on “Our Wedding During COVID (10/10/20)

  1. I too am still in shock how you managed to organise such a special wedding and thank you from the bottom of my heart for sharing it with us. It was one of the most amazing days of my life which I will treasure forever. Thank you Kerry, Mam, Cara, Hadley, Mo, Nahmet, Seif and Marwa – I loved every second xxxx

    Like

  2. You looked stunning Kerry, I love the hair, the makeup and above all…the dress!
    I love how the decorations were simple and elegant.
    And also I love that despite the pandemic you were able to organise such a beautiful ceremony.
    Wish you and Mamdouh all the best in the world!

    Like

  3. Congrats, Kerry!

    Nothing quite like getting married during the midst of a pandemic. This is one story you’ll be able to tell your future grandchildren about.

    Silly question … but will being married impact your work with Air Emirates? Do you guys plan to stay in the Emirates for the time being? England doesn’t seem like the best place to be either right now! 😢

    Like

    1. Hey Lindsay thank you so much! It is a great story to tell. No it doesn’t impact us at all with Emirates, it actually means we can now live together legally as we are married. We are hoping to do a couple more years here in Dubai but we haven’t decided yet what we want to do next! 😊

      Like

      1. Oh that’s great! I am so glad that you guys can legally live together now and that you can both continue to work with Emirates. Hopefully 2021 will involve more travel. ❤

        Like

Leave a comment