Tour of my Crew Accommodation

I thought I would post something a little bit different, seeing as I won’t be flying for a while now due to everything going on. I wanted to show you what my accommodation looks like and all the facilities we have. We are very lucky to have our accommodation provided for us, free of charge. We also have some amazing facilities and shops/restaurants in our building.

THE AREA 

There are several cabin crew accommodation buildings located around Dubai. My building is just a 15 minute drive to the airport and around 20-25 minutes from the city centre. Downstairs, we have a number of restaurants connected to our building including a Thai restaurant and a kebab cafeteria. We also have a pharmacy, a number of beauty salons and a money exchange service. Most importantly, we have a supermarket where we can buy all the essentials.

IMG_2102
Local supermarket
IMG_2103
Pharmacy & Beauty Salon
IMG_2100
Money exchange

 

BUILDING FACILITIES 

In my building, there is a rooftop swimming pool, gym and sauna. These are maintained regularly and open most of the time. I used to always use the swimming pool when I first joined or after a long flight, but now not so much as I’ve become lazy! We also have laundry in our building where we get free dry cleaning for our uniform, as well as a crew mail service where we can send internal as well as international mail. Additionally, free parking is available for all crew.

**Please note, I took these pictures when I first moved in. The gym, swimming pool and sauna are now closed temporarily due to the Coronavirus**

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_ec1a
Rooftop swimming pool
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_ec15
Gym
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_ec18
Gym
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146bb
Laundry and mail services
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146c4
Car parking

 

THE APARTMENT

There are several apartments on each floor and generally, 2-3 people in each. Each apartment is either male or female and cannot be mixed. All apartments have a living room, kitchen and some have a utility room and spare guest bathroom. Most of the apartments in the blocks look similar but vary in size and layout. I got pretty lucky with mine as I have the biggest kitchen I have seen in my block and I also have a utility room where as others don’t.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146a8
Corridor
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146c3
Welcome to my apartment
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146c6
Living/dining room
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146bf
Seating area
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146c5
Kitchen
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146ca
Kitchen
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146d2
Kitchen
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146c1
Corridor inside my apartment
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146d3
Utility room (aka junk room!)
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146c7
Spare/guest bathroom

 

MY BEDROOM 

As I mentioned earlier, there are normally 2-3 people in each apartment. In my apartment, there are three of us. Each of the bedrooms are labelled A, B or C. Generally, the A bedroom is the biggest with an en-suite and a balcony whereas the B and C bedrooms have a bathroom outside and may not have a balcony. When I first joined the company I was living in the B bedroom, which was absolutely fine for me, however, when the girl living in the A bedroom moved out, I decided to move into her bedroom for a bit more extra space. There is a huge difference in space and it is also lovely having my own bathroom and balcony – even though I never use the balcony as it always gets so dusty!

I have tried to make my bedroom as cosy as possible and I’ve bought so many decorative bits and souvenirs from around the world. I absolutely love my bedroom and feel so lucky to have some a big and open space! I tried to make it as colourful as possible as we spend so much time in very white and plain hotel rooms, I thought I would liven things up so that when I got back, I felt like I was at home.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146cc
Entrance to my room
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146bc
My bedroom
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146cd
My bedroom
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146ce
Shelves
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146c8
My bedroom
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146c0
Wardrobe
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146d0
Dressing table and notice board
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146ba
Balcony area
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146cf
My balcony
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146c9
Balcony views

 

MY BATHROOM 

My bathroom is pretty standard but the one thing I love about it, is the fact I have a bath! Again, some apartments vary and do not have the same features, so I’m really grateful for my bath. I have added more decorative bits just to add a bit more character to it.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146b9
Bathroom
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_146ac
Bathroom

And there we have it…my apartment tour! I feel extremely lucky to live in such a beautiful apartment that is so clean and modern with so many facilities included. It is so rewarding coming back from a long and demanding flight to have a place where I can relax and feel so at home.

I hope you enjoyed this blog post, I may start posting some different content now that I wont be flying so much.

Thanks for reading.

Kerry May xo

6 thoughts on “Tour of my Crew Accommodation

  1. I like your room very well organized and it is very good you have this facilities so when you come from the flight tired. You have most of stuff around you. Stay safe…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow Kerry! Very beautiful and giant appartment you have. Hope youre relaxing before the flying routine which follows hopefully soon. Stay safe! Lots of love from the Czech Republic! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Robin, thanks so much for your comment 😘 I’m doing lots of resting and finally have my sleeping pattern back to normal! Hope you are staying safe too. Greetings from Dubai xo

      Like

  3. Hi, Kerry! I’ve been a silent reader for a while but now would like to thank you for sharing your apartment tour with us! Can’t wait for more EK related content from you. Stay safe and healthy ❤❤

    Like

    1. Hi Syafia, that is so nice of you to comment, thanks so much! I really appreciate that, I have loads more EK content planned. Hope you are staying safe too 🙂 xxx

      Like

Leave a comment