The first week in Dubai

It has now been a week since I moved to Dubai and it has honestly gone so quick! It has been non-stop from the moment I arrived, but I am loving every minute of it. I arrived early hours of Saturday morning, made my way to my apartment and then met my lovely flat mates. I spent the majority of Saturday unpacking and trying to make my room look a bit more homely. The apartment is absolutely beautiful and one of the first things I did was check out the pool. I feel so lucky to be living here.

On the Saturday night, I met up with all the English girls and we went to Dubai Mall for dinner at the Cheesecake Factory. We then watched the fountains which is a must. I’ve seen them so many times when I have been here before, but I never get bored of them. They are so magical.

IMG_7649
Dubai Mall Aquarium
df0340b7-8471-4230-971c-191dc843c44b
English girls!
IMG_7655
Burj Khalifa

Before we knew it, we was heading back home as we had an early start for our first day of training. Most of the week has been made up of inductions, medical checks and lots of paperwork. It has been nice getting to know everyone, especially those in my batch as we will be spending the next 7 weeks together! On the second day we were given the red polo shirts and our cabin bag which was very exciting.

IMG_7678
Let the training begin!

IMG_7706

IMG_7730
The most amazing views of training college

Outside of training college, we’ve spent most nights either shopping, laying by the pool or ordering takeaways! Not a bad life really! Literally everywhere delivers to your door, McDonalds, Burger King, Subway…it is dangerous. Even the supermarket downstairs delivers to your door! It is great.

IMG_7719.jpg

The week has been quite draining as there is so much to take in, as well as trying to settle in to a new home and routine, however, it has been amazing and we was all very pleased to see Thursday! Friday and Saturday is the weekend here in Dubai, so Thursday night we could finally let our hair down and go out.

My flat mate, Milena and I went to our batch mates apartment first for drinks and then headed to the VII club at the Conrad Hotel. We all had a brilliant night!

IMG_7803e38373d1-a90d-4c61-b3af-2ec51b13ad04

I was then up early the next morning as a lot of the girls were heading to the Zero Gravity beach club in Dubai Marina. I didn’t really know what to expect as I’ve never been to any beach clubs before. We paid 295 dirhams for an all day brunch which included unlimited food and drink. Expensive, but if you make use of the food and drink it is worth it! It was a good day out, however, I don’t know if I would go back.

IMG_7812IMG_7815

What a week it has been! Really looking forward to the next few weeks ahead. We have been told the training gets a lot more intense this week, so I’m sure it will be another busy one.

Still can’t quite believe I live here.

Thanks for reading.

Kerry May xo

Leave a comment