Venice, Italy

I had a couple of days off after Christmas so I decided to go to Venice with Mamdouh on his layover! The timings worked out perfectly so the night before, I booked my ticket and got ready to fly to Venice the next morning! I was very excited as I have never been to Venice before and I love love love going to new places.

The flight departed at 9:35am and Mam took great care of me the entire flight! I watched lots of good Christmas TV and had countless drinks and snacks brought over to me!

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f45
DXB departures
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f4f
Only Fools and Horses Christmas Special
IMG_0263
Papped!
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f4a
Mam

We landed into Venice Marco Polo Airport around 1pm and then I got a taxi to the hotel where I met Mam just as he was checking in. We didn’t hang about as there was a shuttle bus going to the city at 2:30pm so we caught that. We walked along all of the winding canals, stopping along the way for so many photo opportunities! It was absolutely freezing cold though, which I didn’t expect for Italy!

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13eff
Venice
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f49
Me and Mam

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13fa8.jpg

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13faa.jpg

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f43.jpg

We made it to the Ponte dell’Accademia Bridge where you can see the beautiful views of the Grand Canal and Saint Mark’s Basilica.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f04

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f28.jpg

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f8a.jpg

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f0c
Saint Mark’s Basilica

From there, we got on a water taxi and got off at Rialto Bridge which is the oldest and probably the most famous bridge in Venice. I couldn’t believe all of the small shops built into the bridge – I have never seen anything like that before! We got there at sunset, so the bridge was packed with people trying to take the perfect photos.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13ef5
Water taxi
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f13
Rialto Bridge

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f91.jpg

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f10
Boutique shops inside Rialto Bridge
UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f1c
Sunset

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f3e.jpg

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f30.jpg

From here, we walked to St. Mark’s Square to see the Basilica up close as well as the Bell Tower. The Basilica was beautiful and had so much detail. The square felt really festive too with all of the Christmas decorations and lights.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13ecd
St. Mark’s Bell Tower

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13ed8

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f48.jpg

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f2c.jpg

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f51.jpg

Having not eaten since the flight, it was then time to get some dinner. We walked to a nearby restaurant up a side street and then ordered ourselves some pasta each – when in Italy! The dinner was delicious and it was a nice treat being inside from the cold – it really was freezing!

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13ecf

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f82.jpg

After our meal, I went on the hunt for a beautiful Venetian mask as I wanted to buy one as a souvenir for my bedroom. We looked in a few different shops, then I found the perfect one.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13fb7
Venetian mask shopping

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13fa6.jpg

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f2f.jpg

PHOTO-2019-12-30-01-02-24

After this, we got ourselves some cannoli and a pot of tea as we just missed our train by a few minutes which meant we had to wait an hour for the next one!

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f14
Cannoli and tea

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_13f7c.jpg

After a very long day, we then got the train back to the hotel and called it a night. My first time in Venice was amazing, and I’m so glad I got to spend it with Mam. Venice is a beautiful city, everything I imagined and more! I would absolutely love to come back in summer and walk along the canals with some gelato!

Thank you for reading.

Kerry May xo

 

Leave a comment