Santiago, Chile

The next part of my multi-sector trip was a 3 hour 45 minute flight over to Santiago in Chile. Chile is somewhere I have never thought about visiting before, but I was excited to see what it had to offer and as none of the crew had been to Chile, everyone was up for doing something.

We arrived at our hotel around midnight, so we quickly sorted out our plans for the next day and then headed straight to bed. The next morning, a large group of us met downstairs at 9am to start the tour.

IMG_5940
Hotel room
IMG_5943
Beautiful mountain views to wake up to

The first part of the tour was a stop at Veramonte winery located in Casablanca Valley. I am not a wine drinker so I wasn’t that keen on trying all the different wines, but I did want to get involved so I tried a few and had a walk around the pretty vineyards. Surprisingly, some of the wines tasted alright!

IMG_5957
Veramonte
IMG_5970
Chilean wines
IMG_5971
Wine tasting
IMG_6101
Vineyards
IMG_6102
Vineyards
IMG_5980
Vineyards
IMG_5998
“Life is too short to drink bad wine”

We then stopped off at another winery and gift shop, but I was more interested in the Easter Island statues that was there. I have wanted to visit the Easter Islands ever since I watched a Youtube video where a traveller went there. Most people fly to the islands from Santiago! I hope to visit one day.

IMG_6112
Easter Island statues

Next, we drove to Valparaíso which is a beautiful neighbourhood known for it’s steep funiculars and colourful houses. Valparaíso also means “paradise valley” in Spanish and it certainly was! The whole area was beautiful, and every corner you turned there was something new to see. We wandered around the streets for a while and stopped along the way to take photos.

IMG_6109 2
Outside Pablo Neruda’s house in La Sebastiana
IMG_6103
Outside Pablo Neruda’s house in La Sebastiana
IMG_6035
Fruit and veg market
IMG_6041
Colourful streets of Valparaíso
IMG_6046
Colourful streets of Valparaíso
IMG_6053
Colourful streets of Valparaíso
IMG_6108
Colourful streets of Valparaíso
IMG_6111
Valparaíso
IMG_6113
Valparaíso
IMG_5421
Valparaíso

After this, we went on one of the many funiculars which took us to the bottom of the hill. We then had a walk around the Sunday Flea market where locals sell their goods on the streets.

IMG_6060
Funicular
IMG_6061
Funicular
IMG_6058
Views
IMG_6065
Funicular
img_6007.jpeg
Sunday Flea Market
IMG_6008
Sunday Flea Market
IMG_6010
Sunday Flea Market
IMG_6011
Sunday Flea Market

It was then time for some lunch and our driver took us to a beautiful seafront restaurant called Castillo del Mar which looked like a castle. I had a typical Chilean seafood dish with mashed potato. It was such a great way to end our tour, having lunch looking out to the sea. It really reminded me of Nice in France!

IMG_6083
Vina del Mar
IMG_6084
Castillo del Mar
img_6085.jpeg
Lunch

We were supposed to stop off at the beach but as it was a public holiday, the traffic was supposed to be bad later on and we didn’t want to risk getting stuck and not making it back in time. We drove back and then had a few hours in the hotel before the pick up.

IMG_6097
Souvenirs – Valparaíso
IMG_6099
Souvenirs – Llama!

I had a blast in Chile and it was so nice doing a tour with so many crew! I never dreamt of visiting Chile before but it was definitely one of the best layovers I’ve had and I will always remember my time here. I have now ticked off two countries in South America and I’m feeling more grateful than ever that I get to travel the world every day!

Thanks for reading.

Kerry May xo

6 thoughts on “Santiago, Chile

  1. I love your very informative blogs. I very nearly googled “funicular” as never heard of the word before never mind knowing it’s meaning but now, thanks to you, I do.
    ❤️❤️ xxxxxxx

    Like

Leave a comment