Bali, Indonesia

It was an early morning departure out of Dubai, with a flight time of just over 9 hours to Ngurah Rai International Airport in Bali. I have been to Bali before on holiday, but I was looking forward to coming back on a layover and doing some new things. We arrived in Bali in the night, so went straight to bed.

The next morning, four of us had arranged to go on an early morning tour to the Bali Swing, Monkey Forrest, Rice Terrace’s, Art Market and some temples. The drive from our hotel to Ubud was about an hour, and we arrived at the Bali Swing just as it opened at 8am.

IMG_5415
Our driver for the day
IMG_5414
En route to Ubud

The entrance ticket was $35 USD which is quite expensive for Bali, but there are loads of different swings and the views across the jungle are stunning and as I didn’t do this last time I was here, I didn’t mind paying. We also paid extra for the professional photos as I didn’t want the hassle of trying to take good pictures!

IMG_1456
Bali Swing
IMG_1459
Bali Swing
IMG_5681
Bali Swing

It was lucky that we got there early because the crowds started flooding in, and there were massive queues for the main swings. In between swings and queuing, we had lunch and walked around the area.

IMG_5437
Moments before a massive spider crawled into this
IMG_5431 2
Butterfly
506a6508-a41a-457b-966f-784460bc98c4
Heart rock

There’s also these cute little nests that you can sit in and take photos of. The last swing we went on was decorated with lots of pretty flowers.

0ce87a39-fade-4374-8aa7-cd6a47b4b1ff

IMG_5683
Free as a bird
63d1d5dd-0120-44e8-8871-0646940666f9
Bali swing

Next, we went to the Monkey Forrest which was only a short drive away. It was quite scary actually as the monkeys are quite vicious so you have to be very careful. but it was lovely walking around and watching them!

IMG_5473
Monkey Forrest
IMG_5479
Monkey forrest
IMG_5481
Monkey forrest

 

After this, we went to the Ubud Art Market where you can find all sorts. We didn’t have much time to look around which was probably a good thing as I would have bought much more but I came away with a pretty dreamcatcher which will look really nice in my bedroom!

E23D65AD-9ADC-4CF8-9DAC-A5DE5C118093

The last part of the tour was visiting the Tegallalang rice terraces in Ubud. I went to these before when I was last in Bali, but they were still just as beautiful seeing them the second time.

0bbec3b7-3e13-4deb-b996-ee62f7c1646bIMG_5684

We was supposed to visit some temples after this, but we all felt too tired so we decided to make our way back to the hotel as it was quite a drive away and we wanted to rest before the flight later in the night.

We arrived back at the hotel in the evening, and instead of going straight to sleep, I treated myself to a massage, in my room! Best thing I ever done. It was amazing, and so nice having someone come to my room!

IMG_5501

After this, I slept until the wake up call! I had an amazing time in Bali with great crew and a jam-packed day full of adventures.

Thanks for reading.

Kerry May xo

4 thoughts on “Bali, Indonesia

Leave a comment