Hong Kong

It was time for my first operational flight and I was off to Hong Kong. I was originally rostered for Barcelona, however, I had a last minute change to Hong Kong which I was really excited about as I love Asia.

The flight left Dubai at 18:30 and it was a nice 7 hour flight over to Hong Kong. As it was a night flight, the majority of passengers slept so it was lovely and quiet for us crew, the only requests were instant cup noodles and oolong tea which I love preparing!!

We arrived in Hong Kong at 5.30am and made our way to the hotel. The sun was just rising and I felt so happy to be back in Asia. I love everything about Asia, the hustle and bustle, the people and the culture. I have been to Hong Kong before, however, I was still really happy to return and have a walk around the city.

IMG_9420
Sunrise at the airport
1381B537-D3E6-4441-9D4F-075172F96C00
Hotel room views

The rest of the crew decided to meet downstairs later on at 2pm so that we could catch up on some sleep. I slept for a few hours but was eager to get out and explore so I was up around 10am and headed out to the city.

I had heard about a residential area in Quarry Bay also known as the ‘Monster Building’ that I wanted to check out. I took the MTR from Causeway Bay to Quarry Bay and then walked 5 minutes to the Monster Buildings.

Quarry Bay is a densely populated neighbourhood in Hong Kong which was built in the 1960s to provide housing for low-income residents. The buildings are fascinating due to the sheer size of them and the level of crowding.

IMG_9440
Montane Building

IMG_9439IMG_9581IMG_9477

I then headed back to the hotel to meet the rest of the crew for some lunch. We decided to walk to a nearby restaurant called Yum Cha next to Times Square in Causeway Bay. Yum Cha is well known for its cute and creative dumplings. Of course we had to order a selection of them to see what all the fuss was about!

IMG_9591
BBQ ‘piggy’ and custard buns

IMG_4236IMG_9592

Most of the crew wanted to go grocery shopping and then head back to the hotel, so I decided to carry on wandering around the city. I took the star ferry over to Tsim Sha Tsui as I did this last time and loved it. The sun was just setting and I got myself an ice cream and sat by the harbour looking out to Hong Kong island and all its impressive buildings.

IMG_9530
Hong Kong skyline

 

IMG_9569
Star Ferry
IMG_9551
Beautiful sunset at Victoria Harbour
IMG_9544
Ice cream!

IMG_9549

IMG_9594
The cutest kids!

I then made my way back to the hotel as I had an early morning pick up. I had such a great time in Hong Kong and I am so glad I got to spend some more time here. I absolutely love Hong Kong and would recommend it to anyone! On my way back to the hotel, I stopped off at one of the many cosmetics stores and bought myself some face masks and then had a look at the views from the hotel rooftop bar.

IMG_9589
Goodnight Hong Kong

The flight back to Dubai went really well and I can officially say I have completed my first operational flight without any major dramas! Very happy and looking forward to a few days off in Dubai.

Thanks for reading.

Kerry May xo

Leave a comment