Munich, Germany

My next layover was to Munich, and what made it even better was that Mamdouh managed to swap his flight to Bologna to come on my flight! It is so much better flying with someone you know so I was very excited for this trip. I have been to Munich before I worked for Emirates for a city break, but that was 4 years ago now so I was looking forward to going back.

IMG_7068

After a nice and easy 6 hour flight over to Munich, we reached the hotel around 10pm and rushed out to find a restaurant that was still open. We found a Lebanese restaurant a short walk from the hotel and got some dinner.

IMG_7069
Dinner

The next day, we took the metro into the city and decided to ride around the city on scooters. We picked them up in Marienplatz and then rode all around the city and then towards The Englischer Garten (English Garden).

IMG_7100IMG_7101IMG_7105

IMG_7121
Riding around Munich on our scooters

We arrived in the English Garden which was looking beautiful with all the autumn trees. Living in Dubai feels like it is Summer all year round so it was nice to experience a different season and dress in cosy clothes!

IMG_7129
English Garden

IMG_7131IMG_7195

I remember being fascinated with the surfers in the English Garden the last time I visited so I made sure we went back there and watched them. They really are so good and I think it’s such a great hobby to have that they can practice right in the heart of the city!

IMG_7294
English Garden surfers

IMG_7297Facetune_22-10-2019-00-23-39

We carried on riding our scooters around the gardens and stumbled across so many pretty areas.

E78588FA-E31E-4552-9EF3-4BF04C5CCD66IMG_7348

We then made our way back towards Marienplatz to have a look in some of the shops and stop off for a hot chocolate.

Facetune_22-10-2019-00-30-45
Me and Mam
IMG_7365
Marienplatz

77853300-4B01-4F63-87A3-EDA77835AAF2

We had the perfect day exploring Munich – it really is the best thing getting to work and travel together! That night, we flew back to Dubai and arrived around 8am the following day.

I was actually rostered two back-to-back Munich flights, so a couple of days later, I found myself flying back to Munich, but this time without Mamdouh! I thought I may as well include it in this post instead of writing a separate one. The flight timing was slightly different as I arrived into Munich in the morning so once I reached the hotel, I got straight into bed and ended up sleeping until 4pm!!

IMG_7429
Goodnight at 8am!
IMG_7430
Sunny Munich

I woke up all refreshed and then began getting ready as I was meeting my friend Leonie in the city. Leonie is German and one of my good friends who I lived with when I was studying in Bangkok back in 2013! We have always kept in contact and the last time I was in Munich I met up with her so I was really excited to have a catch up as it had been a couple of years since our last get together.

IMG_7449IMG_7437

We ended up going for pizza at a place called Hungriges Herz where the pizzas are heart shaped. It was such a lovely evening, we sat for hours chatting and then walked around the city.

A31568BE-D88F-44DA-BBCC-F7FC8D13F6CB
Pizza
IMG_7446
Leonie and I
IMG_7440
Church exhibition

I got back to the hotel around 9pm and of course, I was wide awake all night as I had slept all day! I stayed up watching TV programmes on my laptop, whilst ordering a couple of rounds of room service!! The next morning we left pretty early and then flew back to Dubai.

IMG_7451

I had two great layovers in Munich and I have now officially flown to every German city that Emirates flies to. It was a shame I missed Oktoberfest (by one day) but I still had such a good time with Mamdouh and then meeting my friend Leonie.

Thanks for reading.

Kerry May xo

 

Leave a comment