Ras Al Khaimah, UAE

Towards the end of last year, I visited Ras Al Khaimah and took a ride on the world’s longest zipline! Ras Al Khaimah is the UAE’s most northern Emirate and has become increasingly popular with tourists over the last few years due to the introduction of hotels and attractions.

The zipline is at the top of the UAE’s highest mountain called Jebel Jais. At 2.8KM long, you are launched from a glass platform 1,680 metres above sea level. It was a fantastic day out so I thought I would share it on my blog.

Dubai To Jebel Jais Mountain

The drive from Dubai to the top of Jebel Jais mountain is around 1 hour 50 minutes. Although it only takes an hour to get to the city centre of Ras Al Khaimah, the drive up to the mountain takes quite a while along a completely winding road. There are some really nice spots along the drive to stop off including Wadi Beeh Dam.

Book Online At Toroverde

Bookings can be made through the Toroverde website, alternatively you can call to book. We booked on the day but it is recommended to book in advance as it becoming more popular. The current price for the zipline is 300 AED (£65/$81) which I thought was worth it. At the time, they didn’t offer any discounts but I am not sure if this has changed since. We parked up as we arrived a little bit early and made use out of the impressive mountain views for a few photos!

In the car park, there is a meeting point where a mini bus picks you up and takes you to the zipline offices which are higher up the mountain, in a private access area. The bus takes you to the booking office where you meet with the team and go through the equipment and safety instructions. We had to wear an all-in-one orange suit which was very stylish!

Capture It All On Camera

Here, you have the option to rent a Go Pro camera at an additional charge. The staff will attach the Go Pro to your helmet, and all footage and images will be emailed to you after. We decided to do this as you cannot take your phone or camera on the zipline with you.

Once you have all of your equipment on, you are then taken in another mini bus which drives even higher up the mountain! The bus drops you off at the zipline and then you have one final safety briefing. There were around 20 of us in the group and obviously, no one wanted to volunteer to go first! We went in the middle as we wanted to watch other people first. I didn’t feel nervous at all, until we were zipped up and ready to launch. You have to lay in a ‘superman’ position which is when the nerves kicked in! It is so high and you can see right the way off the edge.

Double Zipline

There are two zip lines next to each other so it meant that Mamdouh and I got to ride together at the same time! I wasn’t aware of this so I was really happy when I saw this. We raced each other to see who would get to the end first, and of course, I WON!

Zipline in action!

I am so glad we got it on video as I love watching it back! It was honestly so much fun and the views were incredible. I have done ziplines before but never in this position or with these views – it felt like we were flying! It was such an amazing experience and I would recommend it to anyone living or visiting the UAE.

We were then take back down to the office where we offloaded our equipment and posed for some final pictures next to the certificate.

Ras Al Khaimah

On our way back, we stopped off at Ras Al Khaimah Corniche for some dinner, followed by some tea and a Krispy Kreme! Ras Al Khaimah is a very traditional Emirate, and you can often see camels walking by! We had a lovely evening and even contemplated staying the night but as we had a flight the following evening, we thought it was better to drive back.

Overall, it was such had an incredible day! The Zipline was an amazing experience, and as always it was lovely getting out of Dubai and doing something different. There are so many fun things to do in the UAE and I love trying new experiences.

100% recommend!

Thanks for reading.

3 thoughts on “Ras Al Khaimah, UAE

  1. Hey Kerry! I love your blog, it’s so well written and informative. I know you aren’t currently flying (hopefully soon!) but I hope you will still keep the posts coming:)

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for your comment ☺️ I’m currently in the US after having my first flight in 3 months! It is so good to be back. I will write a post once I’m back in Dubai 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment